top of page
Search
  • dorrisheffron

A new novel and an update from Dorris

It was a grand experience and privilege to be head of Canada’s national organization of professionally published book writers, especially in the year that our founding member, Alice Munro won the Nobel Prize for Literature!


I had the honour of signing and presenting to her a Life Membership in The Writers’ Union of Canada (TWUC). For highlights of my year as Chair of TWUC please read my final report for TWUC's WRITE magazine. It’s in my blog on this website.


In September 2014, I was invited to Fort McMurray, city of the oil sands in northern Alberta, by Lisa Schaldemose, an environmentalist who lives and works there. I did gigs for City Wolves and research for a kind of sequel to it.


Thanks to Lisa’s friend, a First Nations entrepreneur, I was flown over the oil sands in his private plane. Privileged sights and insights, for sure! They are the catalyst for the new novel I’m working on. Its title is Bear With Me.


I will not be blogging or adding much to my website until the novel is finished. Bear with me, please!



5 views0 comments
bottom of page